Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) is a cooperative association between 21 regional economies, founded to promote economic and technical cooperation in the Asia-Pacific region. APEC builds on WTO General Agreement on Trade and Services (GATS) principles for the progressive liberalisation of trade in services through the reduction of regulatory restrictions, leading to reciprocal agreements between member economies where appropriate.

Australia, along with a number of other APEC member economies, has agreed to participate in the APEC Architect framework.

The aim of the framework is to facilitate the access of APEC Architects to independent practice within the Region.

Those economies who are participating in the framework are:

  • Australia
  • Canada
  • People‚Äôs Republic of China
  • Hong Kong China
  • Japan
  • Republic of Korea
  • Malaysia
  • Mexico
  • New Zealand
  • Republic of the Philippines
  • Singapore
  • Thailand
  • United States of America

A Central Council has been established by the participating economies. Each participating economy has established a Monitoring Committee to take responsibility for administration of the APEC Architect framework in that economy.

Australia now has mutual recognition agreements under the APEC Architect Agreement with Japan, Singapore and Canada.


Architects Accreditation Council of Australia
Gadigal Country
Suite 3, Level 5, 75 Castlereagh Street

+61 (2) 8042 8930
[email protected]
Located on Gadigal Country, the AACA acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respects to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.

Follow Us