Recognition Requirements

Recognition Requirements for APEC Architects from other economies

If you have obtained APEC Architect status from an economy other than Australian and you wish to practice as an architect in Australia, what should you do?

Generally to be eligible for registration as an architect in Australia, architects from other countries are required to have their academic qualifications assessed, complete a period of professional experience within Australia, and pass the written and oral professional examination, the Architectural Practice Examination (APE).

However, the State and Territory Architects Registration Boards will grant exemption from these professional recognition requirements to APEC Architects from economies that have entered into mutual recognition arrangement with Australia under the APEC Architect Agreement.

Australia has finalised a co-operative bi-lateral agreement under the APEC Architect framework with Japan, a tri-lateral agreement with Singapore and New Zealand and a tri-lateral arrangement with Canada and New Zealand.

Accordingly APEC Architects from Japan, Singapore and Canada, who wish to become registered as architects in Australia, may seek to undertake the Australian Domain Specific Professional Examination route to registration in Australia. APEC Architect Supplementary Assessment Process. To download the application form  click here.

Contact Information

Architects Accreditation Council of Australia
Suite 3, Level 5
75 Castlereagh Street

PO Box A2575

(612) 8042 8930
[email protected]