Accreditation of Architecture Programs

Program accreditation

The Architecture Program Accreditation Procedure in Australia and New Zealand sets out the peer review process through which all architecture programs in Australia are assessed against the accreditation standard over five years or ten semester equivalence of learning cycle.

The eight state and territory architect registration boards have statutory responsibility for the accreditation of architectural programs of study within their jurisdictions. Programs accredited in one jurisdiction are recognised in any other jurisdiction in Australia and New Zealand. 

For the purposes of accreditation, architecture programs are required to demonstrate that graduates meet 37 of the 70 Performance Criteria in the National Standard of Competency for Architects.  

Assessment for accreditation occurs through the conduct of an Accreditation Review Panel composed of practicing architects and academics selected from the Accreditation Standing Panel. The Accreditation Review Panel makes a recommendation on whether and for how long a program should be accredited. Whilst full details are contained in the Procedure and associated Guidance documents, these resource diagrams are helpful for understanding the key activities and timeframes for Accreditation Review Panels and associated reporting:

By agreement, architect registration boards are guided by the recommendations of the Accreditation Review Panel, however they are not bound to accept those recommendations. A decision by an architect registration board not to grant accreditation is usually reviewable under the administrative appeals arrangements applying in the respective state or territory.

The Architecture Program Accreditation Procedure in Australia and New Zealand came into effect from 1st January 2018.

Accredited architecture qualifications

In Australia, the accredited qualification is normally the Master of Architecture degree. Bachelor-level degrees are not accredited.  In practice, most students first complete the university’s designated pathway qualification at Bachelor level. This qualification is specifically intended to dovetail with the Master of Architecture and to expose students progressively to the required concepts and skills for entry to the Master of Architecture. Universities may also accept students into the Master of Architecture from a variety of prior education experiences.

See here for the list of accredited qualifications.

The Accreditation Procedure only applies to qualifications in Australia and (under licence) in New Zealand. Qualifications from other countries (excepting Hong Kong and Singapore where Australia has Mutual Recognition Agreements in place) are individually assessed under the Overseas Qualifications Assessment process.

Students wanting to study architecture and become an architect in Australia should consider the information in this document:  Information for students.

The Accreditation Standing Panel

The Accreditation Standing Panel comprises independent experts who have the necessary expertise and capacity to serve on Accreditation Review Panels. The criteria for inclusion on the Accreditation Standing Panel are skills-based and subject to a nomination, selection and review process. Nominations to the Panel are normally for a term of three years, commencing on 1 July of the year of nomination. Individuals may nominate at any time, noting that nominations are formally considered every April to June, with an updated listing published every July.

You can find the current Accreditation Standing Panel list here.

Governance and management of the Accreditation Procedure

The Board of the Architects Accreditation Council of Australia, on behalf of the architect registration boards, is responsible for the governance of the Procedure and the Secretariat, with referral of matters back to the relevant State or Territory Architect Registration Board as required. Certain governance functions are separately delegated to the Accreditation Management Committee.

The Accreditation Management Committee is responsible for overseeing the implementation of the Procedure and providing advice to the Architects Accreditation Council of Australia Board in order to implement a transparent, fair and effective Procedure. The Committee does not accredit programs. You can read more about the Committee in the Procedure and you can read their Terms of Reference here.

The Committee was established in late 2017. Current membership is:

More questions?

There are a number of frequently asked questions (and answers) on the AACA FAQ page. This includes FAQs about the Knowledge Domains, the term ‘threshold’, and how Providers should report changes in their accredited programs.

All important documents including the Procedure and associated Guidance documents, Reporting Templates and Stakeholder Update Reports can be found on the AACA Publications page




Architects Accreditation Council of Australia
Suite 3, Level 5
75 Castlereagh Street

PO Box A2575

(612) 8042 8930
[email protected]

Follow Us