APEC Architect Criteria

An APEC Architect is a registered or licensed architect in a participating economy, whose name is enrolled on a section of the APEC Architect Register maintained by that economy. The criteria for admission to an APEC Architect Register has been agreed between the member economies.

To become APEC Architects applicants are required to

  • be registered in their home economy (i.e. in a State/Territory of Australia)
  • have completed a minimum period of professional practice of 7 years after initial registration in any participating economy
  • experience must be gained in all of the following categories of architectural practice
    • Preliminary studies, preparation of brief
    • Design
    • Contract Documentation
    • Administration
  • at least 3 years of the 7 year period must have been undertaken as an architect with sole professional responsibility for the design, documentation and contract administration of buildings of moderate complexity OR in collaboration with other architects, as an architect in charge of and professionally responsible for a significant aspect of the design, documentation and/or contract administration of complex buildings.

Architects deemed by the Monitoring Committee in a particular economy (in Australia this is the Board of the Architects Accreditation Council of Australia) to have fulfilled these requirements are eligible for registration as an APEC Architect.

To retain their registration, APEC Architects must comply with obligations imposed by their home economies for maintaining professional competence and observing codes of professional conduct.

Host economies may choose to adopt special requirements for the recognition of APEC Architects for practice in their economies, but any such requirements must be fully transparent. Australia requires that APEC Architects from other economies, where Australia has a mutual recognition agreement under the APEC Architecture Agreement (Japan, Singapore & Canada), wishing to practice in Australia must undertake an interview in the State or Territory where they intend applying for registration. See here for more information.


Andrew Scott is the first Australian Architect to achieve registration in British Columbia, Canada through the through the Mutual Recognition Arrangement (MRA) between Canada, Australia and New Zealand under the APEC Architect Project. Andrew was registered in July 2015.



Architects Accreditation Council of Australia
Gadigal Country
Suite 3, Level 5, 75 Castlereagh Street

+61 (2) 8042 8930
[email protected]
Located on Gadigal Country, the AACA acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respects to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.

Follow Us