Author Archive

A new agreement between Australia, New Zealand and Canada

A new trilateral agreement between Australia, New Zealand and Canada means that achieving such recognition just got a lot simpler. The agreement – signed by the Architects Accreditation Council of Australia (AACA) on 18 February 2015, at Parliament House in Wellington, New Zealand – enables the mutual recognition of experienced registered architects in all three countries. Richard Thorp, President of the AACA, comments: “We are very pleased to have implemented an agreement under APEC with our New Zealand and Canadian colleagues that will facilitate mobility of architects across our respective economies. We anticipate great interest from architects in all three countries as the trilateral agreement offers significant opportunities for architects and benefits for our respective economies.” The AACA encourages Australian architects to explore the potential of the agreement, noting that Canada has a much lower proportion of architects per capita than Australia. The agreement also provides a base for further collaboration between Australia, New Zealand and Canada. The AACA is now working with the registration boards of New Zealand and Canada to identify further opportunities – for example, to facilitate the movement of architectural students and graduates between the three nations. This new agreement follows similar arrangements already established with Japan and Singapore. These agreements are all developed within the broader framework of the APEC Architect, a register that facilitates the access of registered APEC Architects to independent practice within the Asia-Pacific region. There are currently 27 architects on the Australian APEC Architects Register, and the AACA encourages all Australian architects to investigate the opportunities and to consider becoming an APEC architect. Find out about requirements for APEC architects (

Richard Thorp honoured in Australia Day Awards

Richard Thorp AM, President of AACA and President of the NSW Architects Registration Board has been recognised in the 2015 Australia day Awards for his significant service to architecture particularly through the development of major buildings and professional organisations.

Verification fee decrease

As of Monday 8 December 2014, the fee for a Verification assessment will be decreased to $250.

Review of the National Competency Standards in Architecture (NCSA)

The final draft of the National Competency Standard for Architects is now available to stakeholders for comment.  Click here to see a summary of how the Review Group has dealt with the most common themes raised in the consultation. Click here to see the final draft of the National Standard of Competency for Architects. The preamble has been expanded to explain in simple terms the Standards and uses. Click here to see the draft  Preamble to the National Standard of Competency for Architects. Finally, click here to see how the revised Standard has been mapped against the NCSA. Please forward any comments to [email protected] by 15 September 2014.  


Architects Accreditation Council of Australia
Suite 3, Level 5
75 Castlereagh Street

PO Box A2575

(612) 8042 8930
[email protected]

Follow Us