A new agreement between Australia, New Zealand and Canada

A new trilateral agreement between Australia, New Zealand and Canada means that achieving such recognition just got a lot simpler. The agreement – signed by the Architects Accreditation Council of Australia (AACA) on 18 February 2015, at Parliament House in Wellington, New Zealand – enables the mutual recognition of experienced registered architects in all three countries. Richard Thorp, President of the AACA, comments: “We are very pleased to have implemented an agreement under APEC with our New Zealand and Canadian colleagues that will facilitate mobility of architects across our respective economies. We anticipate great interest from architects in all three countries as the trilateral agreement offers significant opportunities for architects and benefits for our respective economies.” The AACA encourages Australian architects to explore the potential of the agreement, noting that Canada has a much lower proportion of architects per capita than Australia. The agreement also provides a base for further collaboration between Australia, New Zealand and Canada. The AACA is now working with the registration boards of New Zealand and Canada to identify further opportunities – for example, to facilitate the movement of architectural students and graduates between the three nations. This new agreement follows similar arrangements already established with Japan and Singapore. These agreements are all developed within the broader framework of the APEC Architect, a register that facilitates the access of registered APEC Architects to independent practice within the Asia-Pacific region. There are currently 27 architects on the Australian APEC Architects Register, and the AACA encourages all Australian architects to investigate the opportunities and to consider becoming an APEC architect. Find out about requirements for APEC architects (http://www.aaca.org.au/apec-architect-international-issues/apec-architect/)

Richard Thorp honoured in Australia Day Awards

Richard Thorp AM, President of AACA and President of the NSW Architects Registration Board has been recognised in the 2015 Australia day Awards for his significant service to architecture particularly through the development of major buildings and professional organisations. http://www.architects.nsw.gov.au/news/280-ric-thorp-recognised-in-australia-day-honours

Verification fee decrease

As of Monday 8 December 2014, the fee for a Verification assessment will be decreased to $250.

Christmas close down

AACA will be closed for the Christmas break from close of business on Tuesday 23 December and will re-open Monday 5 January 2015. 27 November 2014

Important Information for APE candidates

As from 1 January 2015 candidates for the APE must log a minimum of 3,300 in their logbook which is assessed in Stage 1 of the APE. See here for  information about the AACA log book. The log book may be downloaded from here. If you completed your log book prior to 20 November 2014 when the revised logbook was uploaded you should contact the Architects Registration Board in your State or Territory.

Application dates for NPrA 21 postponed

The AACA is undertaking a review of the NPrA. The review will consider processes for determining eligibility for the programme, communication with applicants and improvements to the administration of the programme. Therefore, the opening date for applications for the upcoming NPrA will be postponed until June/July 2015. Please contact the CEO at [email protected] if you have any questions.

Changes to the validity period of the Skills Migration Assessment


From 1 July 2014, if a skills assessment is mandatory as part of a visa application, it will only be valid for a period of 3 years from the date of issue, or a shorter validity period if specified on the assessment.

·         For points-tested visas, applications made before 1 July 2014 will not be affected by this change.

·         For Employer Sponsored or subclass 485  visas, applications made before 1 July 2014 will not be affected by this change.

·         Subclass 457 applications will not be affected by this change.

For more details on this change please go to the  Department of Immigration and Border Protection’s website (Link to http://www.immi.gov.au/News/Pages/new-validity-requirement-skills-assessments.aspx

First Japanese APEC architect registered in NSW

Mr Hisao Fujita is the first Japanese APEC architect to be registered in an Australian jurisdiction under the APEC Architect Agreement. After successfully completing the AACA Supplementary Assessment Process, the NSW Architects Registration Board accepted his application for registration on 20 August 2014. An APEC Architect   is a person who is registered or licensed as an architect in a participating economy for a period of at least seven years. Under the APEC Architect Agreement  Australia and New Zealand have agreements with Japan, Singapore and Chinese Taipei.  This means that APEC Architects from Japan, Singapore and Chinese Taipai may apply to the AACA to sit the APEC Architect Supplementary Assessment process to determine whether they have an appropriate knowledge of the provision of architectural services in Australia in order to operate at the standard expected of architects in Australia. Australian architects with more than seven years post registration experience may apply to be included on the Australian APEC Architect Register. Australian APEC architects are then eligible to apply to the above jurisdictions bypass those regular assessments and simply sit the Domain Specific Assessment in the respective jurisdictions.

Review of the National Competency Standards in Architecture (NCSA)

The final draft of the National Competency Standard for Architects is now available to stakeholders for comment.  Click here to see a summary of how the Review Group has dealt with the most common themes raised in the consultation. Click here to see the final draft of the National Standard of Competency for Architects. The preamble has been expanded to explain in simple terms the Standards and uses. Click here to see the draft  Preamble to the National Standard of Competency for Architects. Finally, click here to see how the revised Standard has been mapped against the NCSA. Please forward any comments to [email protected] by 15 September 2014.  

Labour market update from Department of Employment

The Australian Labour Market Update publication (ALMU) is a quarterly publication prepared by the Department of Employment on labour market issues to better inform community organisations, migrant resource centres, recent migrants and overseas people interested in working or settling in Australia on a temporary or permanent basis. The July 2014 Hot Topic focuses on architects and landscape architects. See http://www.employment.gov.au/australian-labour-market-update-publication. .


Architects Accreditation Council of Australia
Suite 3, Level 5
75 Castlereagh Street

PO Box A2575

(612) 8042 8930
[email protected]

Follow Us