First Japanese APEC architect registered in NSW

Mr Hisao Fujita is the first Japanese APEC architect to be registered in an Australian jurisdiction under the APEC Architect Agreement. After successfully completing the AACA Supplementary Assessment Process, the NSW Architects Registration Board accepted his application for registration on 20 August 2014. An APEC Architect   is a person who is registered or licensed as an architect in a participating economy for a period of at least seven years. Under the APEC Architect Agreement  Australia and New Zealand have agreements with Japan, Singapore and Chinese Taipei.  This means that APEC Architects from Japan, Singapore and Chinese Taipai may apply to the AACA to sit the APEC Architect Supplementary Assessment process to determine whether they have an appropriate knowledge of the provision of architectural services in Australia in order to operate at the standard expected of architects in Australia. Australian architects with more than seven years post registration experience may apply to be included on the Australian APEC Architect Register. Australian APEC architects are then eligible to apply to the above jurisdictions bypass those regular assessments and simply sit the Domain Specific Assessment in the respective jurisdictions.


Architects Accreditation Council of Australia
Gadigal Country
Suite 3, Level 5, 75 Castlereagh Street

+61 (2) 8042 8930
[email protected]
Located on Gadigal Country, the AACA acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respects to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.

Follow Us