Mutual Recognition

Are there any Mutual Recognition Agreements in place between Australia and overseas countries?

Mutual recognition with New Zealand applies through the Trans-Tasman Mutual Recognition Agreement. Currently registered architects wishing to become registered in New Zealand under the terms of this agreement should contact the New Zealand Registered Architects Board.

The USA/New Zealand/Australia allows for Australian architects to be registered in 30 US states and territories without completing further examinations. See here for more details.  

Australia is a signatory to the APEC Architect Mutual Recognition Agreement. Currently there are mutual recognition agreements in place with Japan, Singapore and Canada.

Previous Overseas Qualifications Assessment
AACA logo white

Architects Accreditation Council of Australia
Gadigal Country
Suite 3, Level 5, 75 Castlereagh Street

Located on Gadigal Country, the AACA acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of Country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respects to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.