New research on the architectural profession in Australia

AUSTRALIAN ARCHITECTURAL STANDARDS COMPARED WITH NEW ZEALAND, USA, CANADA, HONG KONG AND SINGAPORE Australia’s requirements for architectural education and registration compare well with a number of key economies in the APEC group, according to a study published by the Architects Accreditation Council of Australia (AACA). “Our requirements for five years of accredited full time university study (or equivalent), at least two years of professional experience and sitting of a professional exam compare closely with requirements in New Zealand, the United States of America, Canada, Singapore and Hong Kong,” said AACA CEO Kate Doyle. “Consumers can be confident Australia’s 12,000 registered architects have been through a comprehensive nationally consistent process to ensure they have the full range of design, technical and professional skills needed to deliver quality services to the public.” At the same time, the AACA study found there are some differences in approach among the six countries studied, for example in the format of the professional exam between jurisdictions. Most countries including Australia have a written and oral exam, but New Zealand just has an oral exam, while the USA is the only country with an online exam that can be taken anytime at approved testing centres. The AACA comparative study also highlighted areas where enhancements to Australia’s registration regime might be possible. “Australia is unusual in not having a process to assess the bona fides of experienced architects moving here from other countries,” said Ms Doyle. “With the agreement of the Architects Registration Boards around Australia we are investigating the potential of developing a process to recognise appropriately qualified and experienced overseas architects.” “Another key point of difference is that we don’t have the same kind of structured internship following graduation that a number of countries offer.” “This is also an area that could be investigated by the AACA in discussion with State and Territory Architect Registration Boards and industry stakeholders as we continue to improve services to the architectural sector,” said Ms Doyle. The AACA study provides a detailed benchmarking comparison of requirements in each jurisdiction, viewable through a customisable online matrix on the website: A new profile of the Australian architectural sector is also downloadable as a companion document to the study. This project was made possible with funding support from the Australian Government Department of Education and Training. For media comment: Kate Doyle, CEO 0400 564 936 The Architects Accreditation Council of Australia (AACA) is a not for profit company owned by the State and Territory architect registration boards. It is the national organisation responsible for coordinating and facilitating national standards for the registration of architects in Australia.

Trackback from your site.


Architects Accreditation Council of Australia
Gadigal Country
Suite 3, Level 5, 75 Castlereagh Street

+61 (2) 8042 8930
[email protected]
Located on Gadigal Country, the AACA acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respects to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.

Follow Us