Review of the NSCA – Progress Updates as at end March 2021

Stage 5 of the Review of the National Standard of Competency for Architects (NSCA) concluded at the start of March. This stage sought comment from Stakeholders on a Consultation Draft of the proposed revised Standard. 25 submissions were received, with the majority of stakeholder feedback:

  • Supporting the restructuring of the Standard
  • Supporting the open and transparent process that had been undertaken to-date.

Following review and analysis of the submissions by the AACA and consideration of the issues by the Expert Reference Group, the following work is being undertaken on the proposed revised Standard:

  • Review for consistency of terminology and language
  • Clearer delineation between the three competency levels, and clarification that the third competency level will only be used by Architect Registration Boards as they see fit within their local jurisdiction
  • Inclusion of critical areas of practice required at the graduate competency level
  • Clarity around language and requirement for contract administration, project management, and cultural and environmental requirements
  • A re-ordering of the organisation of the Performance Criteria within each of the 4 Units
  • Further review of all Performance Criteria to ensure that they are all framed in a manner that allows them to be assessable
  • Legal review
  • Graphic design

The AACA thanks the members of the Expert Reference Group for their involvement in the review process from March 2020 to March 2021:

  • Dr Tanja Glusac (WA) – AASA Nominee
  • Ms Charmaine Kai (QLD) – ACA Nominee
  • Mr Bill Krotiris (VIC) – nominated by the ARBs as having current practice experience
  • Dr Kirsten Orr (NSW) – nominated by the Registrars of the ARBs as having experience with regulation
  • Emeritus Professor Alec Tzannes AM (NSW) – AIA Nominee

The following work continues in support of the finalisation of the review and publishing of the revised 2021 NSCA by mid-year:

  • The proposed revised Standard is being prepared for referral to the eight Australian Architect Registration Boards for their detailed consideration and endorsement.
  • A detailed Implementation Plan is being developed, inclusive of the need to prepare updated Program, Assessor and Candidate Guides and other relevant documentation.

A further update will be provided by mid 2021, inclusive of more detailed information on the Implementation Plan and associated timings.

Previous Final chance to have your say on the revised National Standard of Competency for Architects
AACA logo white

Architects Accreditation Council of Australia
Gadigal Country
Suite 3, Level 5, 75 Castlereagh Street

Located on Gadigal Country, the AACA acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respects to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.