The revised National Standard of Competency for Architects is now available in on- line format.

The National Standard of Competency for Architects (NSCA) is the overarching document that establishes the Standard for architectural education and assessment of professional competency prior to registration as an Architect in Australia.
The Standard describes what is reasonably expected of a person who can demonstrate the standard of skill, care and diligence widely accepted in Australia as a competent professional Architectural practitioner. It comprises 70 individual Performance Criteria, which are grouped into Elements and Units of Competency and underpinned by 5 Knowledge Domains.

The Standard applies to the accreditation of Australian university programs, Overseas Qualifications Assessment,,
the National Program of Assessment,
the Architectural Practice Examination,
and the Assessment of Overseas Registered Architects.

See here for more information, and go here to create your personalised version of the Standard.

The 2015 edition of the Standard is currently being used in the Overseas Qualification Assessments and the National Program of Recognition. Information about the transition to using the 2015 Standard as the basis for part 1 of the APE will be available by 16 November 2015.


Architects Accreditation Council of Australia
Gadigal Country
Suite 3, Level 5, 75 Castlereagh Street

+61 (2) 8042 8930
[email protected]
Located on Gadigal Country, the AACA acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respects to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.

Follow Us